The Head’s Desk

Message from The Head’s Desk

The Chemical Engineering Department at IITM is a happening place with an exciting bunch of talented faculty and motivated students. The last few years have seen a dramatic increase in industrial collaboration and consultancy, research projects, research publications and faculty awards. Our students have actively participated in National and International Conferences and won many Best Paper/poster awards. In recent years, several publications have made it to the Journal Cover pages.
We have revised our academic curriculum to be in tune with the current developments in the field while retaining the core concepts from the discipline. Faculty introduce new electives related to their research and these are pretty well subscribed.
The Department’s vision is to be a global centre of academic and research excellence in Chemical Engineering Sciences and Technology, where knowledge is vigorously and meticulously pursued and disseminated, application to industry and society is valued, free thinking is encouraged, intellectual rigour is demanded and thoroughness is rewarded. We are in the process of establishing world class research facilities and research groups in specific areas of energy, environment and materials.

Prof. R. Nagarajan
Head of the Department
Department of Chemical Engineering
MSB-126, Mechanical Sciences Block,
IIT Madras, Chennai-600036.
Tel: +91 44 22574151



1,977 total views, 2 views today