News and Announcements

News and Announcements

Degree required: PhD

Required research experience

  • Synthesis and structural characterization of oxide ferroelectric materials
  • Hands-on experience with P-E loop tracer

Designation: Research Associate / Postdoctoral Fellow

Duration of appointment: 1 year with possibility of extension for additional 2 years.

Salary: 38000 + 30% HRA

A cover letter and a detailed CV with the list of publications shall be emailed to

Aravind Kumar Chandiran
Department of Chemical Engineering
IIT Madras

(DATE OF ADMISSION : 2nd January, 2019)

selected list

The date of admission is fixed on Wednesday, Jan-2, 2019.

Hearty Congratulations…!!!!


Prof. R. Nagarajan,
has taken over the Headship in Chemical Engineering Department
on 29th October, 2018 Forenoon.

We are hosting a reception at the annual AIChE meeting in Pittsburgh, PA, USA. The reception will be held as per details below:

Date: Monday, October 29th

Time: 7:15 pm to 9:30 pm.

Location: David L. Lawrence Convention Center, DLCC #327

The reception is an important part of our outreach efforts to connect with our alumni and well-wishers. It provides a platform for the department to connect with the alumni, showcase its activities and present exciting new developments in the institute.

We also hope this meeting will help in interacting with prospective faculty/postdocs  to the Chemical Engineering department at IITM. Please email the head at for more information.

The reception is open to all alumni, well-wishers and prospective faculty/post-docs of the Chemical Engineering department at IIT-Madras. We look forward to meeting you at the conference and/or the reception.

The department brochure can be downloaded here

 Summer Fellowship Programme 2019

Selected list of candidates

S. No.App.No.NameUG College
1CH19SFP0001GOWRIDHARINI SUNDARAMAlagappa College of technology, Anna University, Guindy
2CH19SFP0069Koushik SampathNational Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli
3CH19SFP0134JOEL JACOB THOMASNational Institute Of Technology,Rourkela
4CH19SFP0074Ashmita DasVellore Institute of Technology,Vellore
D SASI KIRANNational Institute of technology Warangal
7CH19SFP0066Madhangi RSASTRA Deemed to be University
8CH19SFP0102Sahir SarwarZakir Hussain College of Engineering and Technology
9CH19SFP0131Swetha VSri Sivasubramaniya Nadar College of Engineering Kalavakkam
10CH19SFP0022Pl.AlagammaiCSIR-Central electrochemical research institute
11CH19SFP0072Sayani KarmakarJadavpur University
13CH19SFP0039UDAY MADHUKAR RADEMaulana Azad National Institute of Technology, Bhopal
14CH19SFP0196Abhishek AnandSardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology, Surat

Period of the Project: Duration of the programme may commence from 20th May 2019 to 19th July 2019.

Stipend: A sum of Rs.6000/- per month will be given as a stipend for a maximum period of 2 months.

Offer letter will be sent shortly (check Email)

Selection of MS/PhD candidates will be held on 30th November and 1st December 2017. For the list of shortlisted candidates and other relevant information, visit

The Department received the first installment of the FIST grant to help capacity and human resource improvement on August 1 2017


Dr. S. Pushpavanam of our Department Selected as Institute Chair

Institute Chair Professor, has been set up by Board of Governors to recognize professors “who have distinguished themselves and been recognized by their peers for their research and/or technology development, and who have excelled in teaching and service to the Institute/nation/profession.


4,566 total views, 9 views today